Corelli: Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.8 (Christmas Concerto) - wind dectet

Corelli: Concerto Grosso Op.6 No.8 (Christmas Concerto) - wind dectet

Concerto grosso in G minor, Op. 6, No. 8 by Arcangelo Corelli, known commonly as the Christmas Concerto, was commissioned by Cardinal Pietro Ottoboni and published posthumously in 1714 as part of Corelli's Twelve concerti grossi, Op. 6. The concerto bears the inscription Fatto per la notte di Natale (made for the night of Christmas). Its composition date is uncertain, but there is a record of Corelli having performed a Christmas concerto in 1690 for the enjoyment of his new patron.

The concerto is scored for an ensemble consisting of two concertino violins and cello, ripieno strings and continuo. The work is structured as a concerto da chiesa, in this case expanded from a typical four movement structure to six:

This is the complete concerto.

Arranged symphonic wind and bass.
The movements are as follows, the best known being the Pastorale.

  • Vivace/ Grave
  • Allegro, 
  • Adagio – Allegro – Adagio, 
  • Vivace, 
  • Allegro, 
  • Largo. Pastorale ad libitum,
  • arranged for

    chamber winds, symphonic winds, tentet, decet, dectet, double wind quintet