Debussy: Suite Bergamasque Mvt.2 Minuet - wind dectet

Debussy: Suite Bergamasque Mvt.2 Minuet - wind dectet

The Suite Bergamasque  is a piano suite composed by Claude Debussy. It was first composed around 1890, at the age of 28, but was significantly revised just before its publication in 1905.
The third and most famous movement of Suite bergamasque is "Clair de lune".
The second piece in the suite is entitled Minuet in A minor. Its playful main theme contrasts with an alternatively mysterious and dramatic middle section. This piece is particularly original, as it does not conform to the particular style that most minuets share. Rather than being very airy and dainty, it shows much more raw comedy. Again, Debussy sets a very novel piece in the guise of an old dance style.
It is arranged for a double wind quintet of 2 fl, 2 ob, 2 cl, 2 hn & 2 bsn.
Other movements are available, for both dectet, and other instrumental groups.

  • PDF

    Score and parts


Ray Thompson Music

Subscribe Form

Northumberland, UK

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Ray Thompson Music. Proudly created with