Fauré: Pelleas et Melisande Op.78 III. Sicilienne - wind quintet

Fauré: Pelleas et Melisande Op.78 III. Sicilienne - wind quintet

Sicilienne, Op. 78, is a composition for cello and piano by French composer Gabriel Fauré.


It was originally composed as part of the incidental music for Molière's Le Bourgeois gentilhomme, but the piece was never used for it. It appeared as part of the incidental music the first English production of Maurice Maeterlinck's play, Pelléas et Mélisande, and in the suite prepared for separate performance by the composer. In addition, it was published as a solo for cello (or violin) with piano accompaniment dedicated to the British cellist William Henry Squire (1871-1963).

Arrangements have been made for many instruments, accompanied usually by piano though sometimes by the harp or guitar. Perhaps the best known is that for flute and piano by Henri Büsser.

I hve arranged it for wind quintet, from Faure's orchestral arrangement.

I made the decision to arranging it as though it had been composed for winds. I have omitted the piano/harp arpeggio, and instead have given sustaining notes (mostly to the horn). This still, I feel ,maintains the ethereal sound of the piece

  • PDF

    Score and 5 parts

    Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Woodwind Quintet, Horn in F

  • Wind Quintet

    Original works or arrangements of classical music.


    Flute, oboe, clarinet, horn and bassoon.


Ray Thompson Music

Subscribe Form

Northumberland, UK

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Ray Thompson Music. Proudly created with Wix.com