Mozart: "Ave Verum Corpus" K618 Motette - clarinet quartet

Mozart: "Ave Verum Corpus" K618 Motette - clarinet quartet

Ave verum corpus (Hail, true body) is a motet in D major (K. 618), composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

It is a setting of the 14th century Eucharistic hymn in Latin "Ave verum corpus".

in 1791. Mozart wrote it for Anton Stoll, a friend of Mozart and Joseph Haydn. Stoll was the musical coordinator in the parish of Baden bei Wien, near Vienna. This setting of the Ave verum corpus text was composed to celebrate the feast of Corpus Christi; the autograph is dated 17 June 1791.


It is only forty-six bars long and is scored for SATB choir, string instruments, and organ. Mozart's manuscript contains minimal directions, with only a single sotto voce at the beginning.


I have arranged it for clarinet quartet (3 Bb and bass)

    $7.95 Regular Price
    $1.00Sale Price

    Ray Thompson Music

    Subscribe Form

    Northumberland, UK

    • Facebook
    • Twitter

    ©2017 by Ray Thompson Music. Proudly created with