Mozart: Symphony No. 29 in A K201 Mvt.1 - wind dectet

Mozart: Symphony No. 29 in A K201 Mvt.1 - wind dectet

An arrangement for wind dectet of the first movement of this well loved Symphony.
The horn parts are almost entirely Mozart’s, being written for horns in A.
I have spread the violin 1 parts around all the three treble wind instruments.
Mozart’s original oboe parts are more or less the same as the horn parts with little melodic content. merely adding harmony to the louder passages.
I have given the oboes their fare share of the melody. 
I have also simplified the rapid semiquaver passages to quavers. This suits the wind dectet.

Your horn players will enjoy playing  this.......playing predominately in the higher register.... This adds excitement and brilliance to this piece of music.

you can view it here:

The original orchestral composition uses horns in A and clarinets in A.
I have done the same, but also include transposed parts for horns in F and clarinets in Bb

  • PDF

    Score and 10 parts 


Ray Thompson Music

Subscribe Form

Northumberland, UK

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Ray Thompson Music. Proudly created with