Mozart: Symphony No 40 K550 Mvt.1 Allegro - wind dectet

Mozart: Symphony No 40 K550 Mvt.1 Allegro - wind dectet

One of Mozart’s well loved symphonies: No.40 in G minor K.550 is here arranged for a wind dectet (10 players) made up of a double wind quintet. (2 Fl, 2 Ob, 2 Cl, 2 Hn, 2 Bsn).

The 2 horn parts are mostly Mozart’s with a couple of additions of mine.They are written for natural horns in Bb alto and G.

I have attempted to allocate the string parts equally round the other 8 wind players, the difficulty being, leaving somewhere for them to to breath!

I have not transcribed the alto string part exactly, but have rearranged some of it as an arpeggio, making it easier for the wind player.

It is still a longish blow (over 7 minutes without the repeat) but still fun to play.

Hope you enjoy it.


  • PDF

    Score and 2 of Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn in F,

    Wind dectet, natural horn, chamber winds, symphonic wind ensemble, tentet, dectet


Ray Thompson Music

Subscribe Form

Northumberland, UK

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

©2017 by Ray Thompson Music. Proudly created with